Homeowner Reviews (13)

9.3 13 reviews

Service

9.6

Design

9.3

Quality

9.2

Value

9.2

Reviewed by 13 homeowners

Desmond Chik

07 Jan 2019

House Type: Condominium

ID Firm: Flo Design Pte Ltd

Designer(s): James Ng

Budget: $30k - $40k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

A piece of beautiful work cannot be completed without passion and commitment. Flo Design has it all….. Passionate People, Premium End Product, Excellent Service, Affordable Price, Brilliant Design. In renovation, besides the design and price, other critical attributes are the excellent service, quality work, on time delivery and full completion. In this aspect, we would like to affirm that James has met these requisites with flying colors, and that we are fully and extremely satisfied with his 6 stars service, quality work and personality – approachable, cool, responsible and responsive. We would not hesitate in commending him and recommending him (and his film) to our friends and relatives who are contemplating of renovating their houses. Thanks James and his team!

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

An ID who seeks to listen to the voice of customer is very important as this ensures that the future design intent and the customer’s wishes are aligned. James is such a person. In renovation, besides the price, we also look for QUALITY - good design, attention to details, use of superior materials, great sense of responsibility and speedy responses. Amazingly, Flo Design scores well in all aspects!

Read More

Review Score: 10

Service: 10

Design: 10

Quality: 10

Value: 10

Recommended

Edwin

27 Dec 2018

House Type: Condominium

ID Firm: Flo Design Pte Ltd

Designer(s): James Ng

Budget: $20k - $30k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

Feeling very grateful for the help and guidance received from Flo Design. The 3D drawing presented to us is almost identical to what we are seeing in our place now! James pays attention to detail and ensures that the works scheduled are being carried out timely and orderly. Our little cosy place couldn't be this way without you. Thank you and will defiantly recommend my friends to you!

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Feeling very grateful for the help and guidance received from Flo Design. The 3D drawing presented to us is almost identical to what we are seeing in our place now! James pays attention to detail and ensures that the works scheduled are being carried out timely and orderly. Our little cosy place couldn't be this way without you. Thank you and will defiantly recommend my friends to you!

Read More

Review Score: 9

Service: 9

Design: 9

Quality: 9

Value: 9

Recommended

Pei Nei

15 Oct 2018

House Type: HDB 5-Room/Exec/Mansionette

ID Firm: Flo Design Pte Ltd

Designer(s): Roger Koh

Budget: $20k - $30k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

We engaged Flo design after seeing the workmanship at my friend’s house. It was a great challenge to renovate existing house with existing household stuff and furniture. With Roger’s professional advice and help, finally, our house turned out to be the way we like and it was nicely done after a month. Roger is very knowledgeable and he listened to our every need. He would offer his own advice on how we could enhance the features we wanted and always accommodate to our needs. More importantly, we felt very comfortable when dealing with him. He has always responded fast to all of our queries. He is meticulous and manages the timeline well to match our schedule. Quality of materials used are very good, carpentry workmanship was very impressive though price is reasonable. There were also no hidden costs and we were informed before any decisions were made. The experience in this area was so great that we do not need to worry on hidden cost. Overall, it has been a great pleasure dealing with Roger. Will definitely recommend to others.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Work closely with designer for the design concept and requirement, this will help in realizing dream home. Feel free to discuss with designer for the needs, Flo design would provide their best advice on how they could enhance the features which accommodate our needs.

Read More

Review Score: 10

Service: 10

Design: 10

Quality: 10

Value: 10

Recommended

Ong Li Yen

09 Oct 2018

House Type: HDB 5-Room/Exec/Mansionette

ID Firm: Flo Design Pte Ltd

Designer(s): James Ng

Budget: $50k - $60k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

We are first time owners and do not know about renovation stuff at all. James is patient and provide good advice. He guides us through the whole renovation project, constantly keep us updated on the status and sending us photos of the renovation. We informed him on the rush to move in, the team handover our house in around 6 weeks. The whole Flo Design team and their contractors have been very responsible and helpful.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Do research online, save the photos you like and discuss with your ID. Do not just decided the ID base on the lowest quote.

Read More

Review Score: 8.5

Service: 9

Design: 8

Quality: 9

Value: 8

Recommended

Douglas Mok

09 Oct 2018

House Type: HDB 4-Room

ID Firm: Flo Design Pte Ltd

Designer(s): James Ng

Budget: $30k - $40k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

I enjoyed the experience of working with James and his team from Flo Design. He helps you to find a balance between design and comfort for your home. They are affordable and James puts in effort to explain what is essential and what is good to have and helped me make wise decisions that allowed me to keep within my budget. I highly recommend James from Flo Design.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Don't aim for the cheapest. Talk to the ID to understand the materials that they use and the contractors they work with. Ask to view a project they completed to assess the workmanship.

Read More

Review Score: 9

Service: 9

Design: 9

Quality: 9

Value: 9

Recommended

Susan

15 May 2018

House Type: HDB 4-Room

ID Firm: Flo Design Pte Ltd

Designer(s): James, Roger and Tex

Budget: $30k - $40k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

I have been serviced by not just one designer but three, and not forgetting the other staff - the project manager, the curtain and blind maker, electrician and contractors for ceiling, carpentry work, air-conditioning, windows, painters, and many more. One would be surprised why mention so many. That is because being proactive in my home renovation, I have communicated with all of them, ensuring that all parties are on the same page towards the renovation work. James, the interior designer, is the main brain of this project, followed by the other two designers, Roger and Tex , as well as Vincent, the project manager. All of them worked very hard to meet the demands of the homeowner (me). James has done very well ensuring that he got the designs that I required by taking down a lot of notes and drew many pictures to show me. He was very prompt in his work and always produced them on the same day (or the next day) after we had discussed. We had plenty of meetings to discuss over and over again to make changes to the design. I can't even remember how many times that I had asked to amend the designs (oh boy!) and he never complained and kept changing and re-changing till I was satisfied. That showed how committed he was. Though he was quiet about it, I knew he was cracking his head ensuring that the designs could meet my requirement. Roger and Tex were two of the designers who supported the project, resuming different roles. While James is the brain, Roger is the "talking partner." Just like James and Tex, he made multiple trips to my apartment in ensuring that the contractors and workers were doing their job in time and accurately. Together with Vincent, the project manager, they were always there whenever the need arose to make rectification and correction of the renovation work. Roger has always been the "joker" throughout the project. He loves to crack jokes (whether if it is laughable or not is another story) to liven up the environment and makes people around him feel at ease and relax. It really helps a lot when the renovation work could be very stressful for both homeowner and designers due to the nature of the work itself which requires much attention and concentration, as well as meeting deadline. Besides James and Roger, Tex was the first person in Flo Design who had in contact with me. Despite being new and inexperienced, he was always trying his best to support and coordinate the renovation work in the background and helping with little pieces here and there. To some people, fixing things like air-con remote controllers on the walls, doing measurement to install fixtures and home accessories are minor job, but Tex was very careful with his work and could do all these jobs very accurately and quickly. Who dares to say these are insignificant work? Overall, I am extremely satisfied with Flo Design and the entire team, and the contractors who had done far beyond my expectation. I can't help but admire my own home and the work done by them. It has been a long way to get to know them, both professionally and right now, personally. They are like part of my family. Thank you very much for all your hard work! Stay happy and keep in touch. Yay!

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Decide who to engage: I would suggest to shop around for designers or contractors, whoever you prefer. Some people opt to engage contractors, while others like me, prefer to have interior designing company to do my home renovation. I have bought my apartment for about 3 years ago but I could not start renovating it due to my overseas work commitment. However I had contacted a few designers back then but none of them were satisfactory and I could not stay long enough in Singapore to resume any renovation work. Thus, the apartment was left vacant. In 2017, sometime in June, I had decided to come back and live here and that was how my story with Flo Design began. I went around from places to places - shopping malls, HDB shops, commercial areas - almost like 10 or more companies, contractors and interior designers, in search of a "right and good" renovating company. Flo Design is the only company that could meet my demands. Who are they: The designers in Flo Design were able to come out with designs by understanding the homeowner's requirement and they were very patient and listened attentively. They are not the most experienced designers in the industry, but they have the qualities to ensure customers' satisfaction and get the work done accurately and promptly. I did not give the designers a fixed time frame, however I did specify clearly how long certain work should be finished and how they are supposed to be done. Due to my busy time schedule, the renovation work was slow but they were done according to my specification and requirement. Homeowners should communicate clearly with your designers or contractors instead of leaving the entire work to them. You must always be the decision-maker and one can't blame them for doing inaccurately when there is a communication breakdown. So, keep talking to them. Problems arise: Not all work is done perfectly, many times it would require changes and sometimes multiple changes. A good designer or contractor will happily acknowledge any error made and rectify the issue that follows. Flo Design was one of those who kept monitoring and checking on the renovation work. While I was always busy, they were there to oversee the project and feedback to me promptly. Whether how minor an issue arose, they would always rectified it quickly. Even if they can't fix the problem immediately due to other third party involvement, they would inform the homeowners, reassuring that work would be carried out as soon as possible. I did face some issues during the renovation work, but the designers in Flo Design were able to rectify them quickly. When a third party was involved, they would arrange for everyone to meet so as to quicken the work and to avoid misunderstanding. Lack of communication between designers/contractors and homeowners could be very fatal. Imagine if, say, the tiles or cabinets were installed wrongly, how much time would have been wasted and how much more time to hack these fixtures and re-install them again? Therefore, always communicate with your designers/contractors. Well, I did and continuously throughout the entire project. If your requirements are not made known to them, how would they carry out the work accurately? Even when it is communicated well, problems may also arise but less and easier to resolve. I did not have much issues with my home renovation, due to the fact that we were always interacting with each other, and my designers were always supervising the work and providing feedback to me. Trust: Do you trust your designers or contractors? Sometimes, it has to be based on trust in our walk of life. When I first engaged Flo Design, I wasn't sure if they were the "right" designers for me. I have heard from many sources, including friends whom their renovation work became a disaster to them. It had saddened them with lots of stress, money spent and plentiful of time. This is obviously not what every homeowners want. Likewise, a good designer would also wish for a successful renovation work done for their customers. In the business sense, it should always be a win-win situation between both parties. So in choosing the designers or contractors, get to know them. Ask them questions. Initially, homeowners should find out about their credentials and their past work and even previous company they worked for. Visit their office, check their work and portfolio (facebook, media reviews, past record with previous firm, HDB website), what specialty do they have, who do they work with, what kind materials do they use in renovation, and many more Q&A as you go along with them. It is alright to shop around and speak to as many designers as you like. However, if you find it too confusing, then try to set a limit of how many to meet. I had visited about 10 designing companies and spoke to many designers and contractors and shortlisted a few which I could work with. I settled with Flo Design as I felt that they were very sincere, trustworthy and reliable, and they did not fail me. Communication: After these few months of renovating my apartment, the designers and I have gotten along very well. One word of advice, be proactive in the renovation work even if you have a busy schedule. This is your home which we are speaking about. You will be staying there and not the designers. Thus, always keep the communication going with them. Tell them what you like and dislike about the design. If the design didn't come out well, talk to them so that they can make the necessary changes before the work even started. Once work has began or done, partially or fully, it will be very tedious and time consuming to redo all over again. During the renovation work, spare time to see the "men-at-work." It may not be pleasant seeing things all over the place and smelling the dust while work is still going on, but it is worth the time to watch how work is being done. I visited my apartment whenever I could afford the time and checked on the progress of the renovation. Whenever certain work that I felt uncertain of or unsatisfactory, I would voice to my designers so that we could discuss on how to resolve the issues. There may have a lot of explanation, and keep in mind on what is being said. There may be some gigantic terms where homeowners do not understand, you can always ask your designers/contractors to explain, or check it out on the internet. With the easy access of media, it is so easy to obtain information and you can also communicate with anyone and from all over the world. Therefore, follow the flow - talk and discuss closely with your designers/contractors about your home renovation. I wish all homeowners have their homes nicely renovated and all designers and contractors happy with the projects they are involved in.

Read More

Review Score: 10

Service: 10

Design: 10

Quality: 10

Value: 10

Recommended

Hilda Ng

22 Apr 2018

House Type: Condominium

ID Firm: Flo Design Pte Ltd

Designer(s): James and Roger

Budget: $70k - $80k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

The team was able to deliver exactly what we wanted and also gave us good expert advice when we were undecided in some areas. They were patient and bought us to different places to choose the paint, the tiles, the blinds and curtains.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Getting a timeline and making sure that everyone follows the same timeline is important, that’s how we managed to get our house in time for CNY. Be advantageous with colours and tiles. They can make an impact on the overall look of your home.

Read More

Review Score: 8.5

Service: 10

Design: 8

Quality: 8

Value: 8

Recommended

Rachel Goh

21 Apr 2018

House Type: Condominium

ID Firm: Flo Design Pte Ltd

Designer(s): James Ng

Budget: $80k - $90k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

We will certainly recommend James from Flo Design for his professionalism and excellent project delivery. He is very passionate in what he is doing and often went the extra mile for his customers. We are very pleased with the end results, a cosy and lovely home!

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Know what you want, set your Budget and be pragmatic. Most importantly you have to find a reliable and professional renovation partner who understands your needs.

Read More

Review Score: 10

Service: 10

Design: 10

Quality: 10

Value: 10

Recommended

Sahan

09 Apr 2018

House Type: HDB 3-Room

ID Firm: Flo Design Pte Ltd

Designer(s): James

Budget: $30k - $40k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

From the start of engaging Flo Design, we were surprised by how responsive they are to our requests. James and team were always attentive to our concerns and very accommodating to our specifications for our house design. They have also went the extra mile to suggest additional ideas to complement our own requirements. Furthermore they were very easy to communicate if there were any additional things to be done and they were executed professionally. Kudos to Flo Design for a job well done! I would definitely recommend Flo Design to anyone who is looking to renovate their home.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Ensure that you manage to get a responsive interior designer that sticks to the timeline and follows up with issues pertaining to your home. Look out for signs on unresponsive interior designers. For example, we engaged a couple of other interior designers and gave them our contact. However no response was received from them. This is clearly an indication that you will have trouble working with such interior designers once you embark on renovating your home since they were not responsive from the start of engaging them. We were fortunate enough to get James from Flo Design who upon contacting, immediately gave a floor-plan sketch on the possible layout of the house and followed up on our opinion. Renovating a home is not an easy task however with the right interior designer, home renovation could in fact turn out to be an enjoyable process.

Read More

Review Score: 10

Service: 10

Design: 10

Quality: 10

Value: 10

Recommended

Gabriel

02 Nov 2017

House Type: Shophouse

ID Firm: Flo Design Pte Ltd

Designer(s): Roger Koh

Budget: $90k and above

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

We made a wise decision in hiring Roger of Flo Design for our outlet in singpost " Hawkerman" To begin with, Roger really listened to our ideas and preferences, offering some great suggestions of his own as well. Then he blended all of those and came up with a variety of tasteful and attractive possibilities that were also in line with our budget, helping us narrow them down to the final selections. To carry out the plans, he used contractors from his own personal directory of those with whose work he is familiar. He actively coordinated the schedule, keeping everyone on track and checking in frequently to make sure that the work was getting done properly. Many of our customer love the design and feel of the restaurant and would highly recommend him to anyone who wants to be assured of a job well done!

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

What we want something may not be do-able listen to the professional in their advise as they definitely seen more then us

Read More

Review Score: 10

Service: 10

Design: 10

Quality: 10

Value: 10

Recommended

Chay Foon Pheng

19 Sep 2017

House Type: Condominium

ID Firm: Flo Design Pte Ltd

Designer(s): Roger Koh & James Ng

Budget: $20k - $30k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

We enlisted Roger and James to help us marry a few different styles in creating a relaxedand stylish home. From the very beginning, both Roger & James are attentive and efficient. They understood our vision and guided us through the process with patience. Their attention to detail with colours, measurement and material choice helped ensure everthing worked perfectly in the desired space and resulted in our house being transformed into a dream home. The actual result is more gorgeous than the 3D shown to us before the start of the reno. Both are able to work well to a brief, striving for perfection in everything they do.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Find a interior designer who is trustworthy and sincere to provide us with good advice, rather than one who sells us expensive renovation packages. This is crucial to a good renovation experience.

Read More

Review Score: 9.3

Service: 9

Design: 10

Quality: 9

Value: 9

Recommended

Jimmy Chua

18 Sep 2017

House Type: HDB 4-Room

ID Firm: Flo Design Pte Ltd

Designer(s): Roger / James

Budget: $30k - $40k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

Yes, surely. Understand preliminary design / concept can be quit subjective depending on Owner's knowledge and perception of what the end product we want. I would recommend Flo Design based on their work attitude, commitment and resourcefulness, couple with their professional approach to providing suggestion / ideas / schedule / pricing. etc. without compromising quality.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Search for design ideas and settle on basic concept before meeting with Designer, that would save some time and brain cells. Work closely with Designer on option, inclusive of how you would like decorate you home. Always work within budget.

Read More

Review Score: 8.3

Service: 9

Design: 8

Quality: 8

Value: 8

Recommended

Edwin Wu

30 Aug 2017

House Type: HDB 4-Room

ID Firm: Flo Design Pte Ltd

Designer(s): James & Roger

Budget: $30k - $40k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

My experience with Flo Design Pte Ltd was fantastic! James and Roger were able to conceptualize the theme that we wanted - a Modern Scandinavian concept of living. They met us a few times, even after providing the 3D and furniture layout and giving us a realistic timeline on when the house will be accomplished. They are responsive, creative and most importantly responsible to getting our new home done as what we have in our minds! Rest at ease that he also gave us reasonable quotations and payment terms as we compared with another ID company.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

I would say looking for a reliable ID is most important. Either referral by family and your close friends whom has engaged the ID before and are the recipients of the ID works. We also want to keep in mind during discussion and ask for the impression copies on the design. For fees, most will need to work out the best arrangement to achieve your ideal home and not exceed your budget in mind, and if the ID can work around this. Having constant feedback on progress of the renovation works will definitely help to set the homeowners at ease.

Read More

Review Score: 9

Service: 10

Design: 9

Quality: 8

Value: 9

Recommended