Homeowner Reviews (14)

8.6 14 reviews

Service

8.6

Design

8.8

Quality

8.4

Value

8.6

Reviewed by 14 homeowners

Jackson

13 Dec 2021

House Type: HDB 4-Room

ID Firm: 96 Degree Designers

Designer(s): Clarence/ Krystl

Budget: $30k - $40k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

Personally, I would strongly not recommend 96 designers group to anyone. Following is the series of unfortunate event. 1. According to the designer, CEO of the company forgotten to complete the hacking permit which later got rejected by HDB. (Delay of project 2 days) 2. Told that tile’s supplier (Hafary) missed out our delivery, but after I called Hafary personally to clarify and been told that no one from our ID side place any order (Delay 1 day and dishonest). 3. Electrician got covid (Another benefit of doubt for them. Delay again). 4. Some of the rectification work he will just use 3M tape and glue to patch up (Poor quality). 5. Electrician does not know how to fix a storage heater. Call the manufacturer but found that nothing was wrong except a connection was not plugged. (Lack of knowledge) 6. Suppose three days to paint finish the whole house but only 1 layer of the house was painted. (Delay to another day) 7. Flooring suppose to make good but uneven, wall suppose to make good but also uneven, reason no choice nothing can be done (No effort). 8. Many times after arranged a date for work but no show (waste our time and no update from them). 9. Aircon piping was laid before tiles (consequences too many and too complicated to mention….). 10. Does not bother to write down what we say and end up a lot of mistakes. (Poor communication).

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

-If you are urgent to move into your house then take your own risk. -All agreement and design detail you have to take note on your own. better on watsapp or even video down.

Read More

Review Score: 2.8

Service: 1

Design: 3

Quality: 2

Value: 5

Wayne

11 Jun 2017

House Type: HDB 5-Room/Exec/Mansionette

ID Firm: 96 Degree Designers

Designer(s): Sherwin Ng

Budget: $40k - $50k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

Our experience with Sherwin from Team Jason was really pleasant and enjoyable. He is very sincere, easy going and attentive to our requirements. We were very impressed with his knowledge when he openly shared with us the pros and cons of the different concepts, materials and designs. As both my wife and I are first time homeowners, we tend to be a little indecisive and have more requests/questions. But Sherwin gave us practical tips and sound advice along the way and made us feel very assured. Throughout the discussion and renovation process, he was very responsive and patient. He was on-site whenever there is works going on and never fail to update us with photos and status of the progress. I will definitely recommend Sherwin to those who are looking for IDs to design or renovate their house.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Set a budget and constantly check to ensure everything is within your budget. Do your homework and source around before signing. Must be comfortable with your ID and communicate your ideas and requests clearly. During the renovation progress, stay updated and do quality check from time to time. If there’s any issue, bring it up to your ID and rectify it immediately.

Read More

Review Score: 8.3

Service: 8

Design: 9

Quality: 8

Value: 8

Recommended

Diana Chua

17 Apr 2017

House Type: HDB 5-Room/Exec/Mansionette

ID Firm: 96 Degree Designers

Designer(s): Jason Tan

Budget: $90k and above

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

Jason was very proactive in engaging us – we had wanted to commence our renovation planning early as we were also preparing for the birth of our 2nd child. When we sent out requests for design quotations, many designers only called us up requesting to meet, but without any concrete plans or quotations. Those whom we met also did not get back to us promptly. Only Jason sent us a detailed quotation and floor plan, giving us the confidence that he was equally invested in our renovation project. Jason’s standards are also very exacting, and he holds his contractors to them as well – having Jason around during the renovation process meant that we could feel at ease with him supervising the contractors. Jason also sent us daily updates and pictures of the renovation, which made the entire process smoother. Jason also took time to accompany us to select the materials and furnishings and gave valuable comments on whether they would be durable, value-for-money and blend in with the overall design. Even after the project was completed and handed over, Jason remained easily approachable whenever we needed any assistance to touch up any minor defects (e.g. cabinet hinges, painting etc). It was a very pleasant experience working with Jason.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

It is very important to have good rapport with the designer and have trust in his recommendations, as the renovation process can be very tiring and involve a lot of coordination. Being able to rely on the designer to hold the fort and trust that he wants the best for the project (not to just get it over and done with, or rush the process) is also important. A designer who looks into the small details (e.g. concealed wiring) and who takes pride in his work is a must.

Read More

Review Score: 9.5

Service: 10

Design: 10

Quality: 10

Value: 8

Recommended

Diana

16 Apr 2017

House Type: Condominium

ID Firm: 96 Degree Designers

Designer(s): Daniel Seah

Budget: $20k - $30k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

Good service and efficient. He takes time to listen to our needs and provide suitable advice and ideas. Project was completed on time and defects was also managed accordingly after to ensure all is good.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Our unit is quite small and need lots of storage space. Considerable thoughts were given to ensure space was maximise. Quality and workmanship was good.

Read More

Review Score: 8

Service: 8

Design: 8

Quality: 8

Value: 8

Recommended

Mr & Mrs Ho

13 Apr 2017

House Type: Condominium

ID Firm: 96 Degree Designers

Designer(s): Jason

Budget: $50k - $60k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

Jason is an excellent designer who goes beyond his responsibilities as an ID to ensure that our requests are met. He is a very meticulous person who went the extra mile to fully understand each of our family member's lifestyle needs in order to incorporate them into his design concept. With his vast experience in this industry, Jason was able to provide very sound advice to us and at the same time, keep to to our design preferences. The most valuable aspect of Jason is that he is a person of integrity and a man of his word. There was never a moment of doubt that he would take advantage of our inexperience, and this was very assuring as we have heard horror stories about other IDs. Jason is so trustworthy and responsible that we left the entire design and project to him, and we hardly even visited our house during the renovation period as he would send daily photographic updates to us in our WhatsApp Group. Although Jason was given carte blanche in the design concept, he was very mindful in keeping to the budget we agreed upon. Jason also has a team of excellent sub contractors who produce high quality workmanship that exceeded our expectations. For area that needed touch-ups, Jason was also very effiicient in arranging for his team to provide all touch-up services. It was an enjoyable renovation experience for us and the credit goes entirely to Jason and his team! We should not hesitate to strongly recommend Jason and his team to our friends.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

The first and most important step is to look for a reliable ID. That alone will prevent you from encountering any renovation boo-boos. You should also have a general idea of the theme you prefer so that you can be more focused when you are comparing what ID firms offer you. Be upfront about the timeline and budget so that you can work out a realistic package with the ID. Do ensure that it is stated in your renovation contract that touch-ups and follow-ups are included for a specific period of time as defects many not surface until you move in for a while.

Read More

Review Score: 10

Service: 10

Design: 10

Quality: 10

Value: 10

Recommended

Jack Hay

10 Apr 2017

House Type: Condominium

ID Firm: 96 Degree Designers

Designer(s): Jason Tan

Budget: $90k and above

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

Although we walk-in to 96 Degree Designers, Jason was very quick to serve us and worked to provide us a draft design quote Jason was very open to our ideas and we spend many nights in discussions before and after work confirmation. Jason was very responsive to our demands and he kept us updated almost daily while the reno work was in progress. We liked his friendly attitude and also patience with us.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Advised homeowners to ask around for ideas and quotations to make a better judgement. Do homework on your ideal design and work with chosen ID to achieved best design and quality within budget. Make regular on site visit and communicate any discrepancy to designer immediately. Timeline should not take precedence before workmanship. A good quality renovation will last for long and save time & money in the long run.

Read More

Review Score: 9

Service: 9

Design: 9

Quality: 8

Value: 10

Recommended

Vincent Lai

28 Mar 2017

House Type: Condominium

ID Firm: 96 Degree Designers

Designer(s): Jason Tan

Budget: $20k - $30k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

Jason has been an excellent interior designer to us. As this is our first house and we have totally no experience on renovation related matters, Jason was very patient in explaining everything to us even during late nights via mobile phone messaging. He was always trying to offer us his best professional advice possible for our new house even on products which we sourced elsewhere. His sense of responsibility was top notch as he always sought to ensure that everything was well taken care of even to granular details. We felt very comfortable and confident that he will be able to protect our interests when we were trying to negotiate with 3rd party providers or making our own purchases. Not only was he able to help us get the best possible deals when we were making purchases, he was also able to often offer us a variety of solutions when we encounter any problems. Most importantly, he was able to complete his deliverable with high quality and very much to our satisfaction. It was a wonderful experience to see our initial design on pictures being brought to live. This was all carried out by Jason and also the rest of the team: 1) Jacky who helped to coordinate and took charge of the renovation matters whenever Jason is not around 2) The Carpentry team who built an impressive TV console and study table for us. It was really very close to the initial design and the quality delivered was great. 3) The plumbing/handymen team who was able to install all our related items is a very short time efficiently. 4) The electrician team who installed all our lightings and fans. Overall, we are very glad to have chosen him as our ID for our new home and managed to learn a lot from his experiences. His service level was excellent and was most willing to go the extra mile for us. We will definitely strongly recommend him to any of our friends if they are looking out for IDs as well. Looking forward to Jason as our ID again for our next home!

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Be very sure about the kind of theme and design which you want. Set a budget carefully with a bit of buffer for unforeseen expenses. Be prepared to do a lot of research on designs, electrical appliances, furniture etc.

Read More

Review Score: 9.8

Service: 10

Design: 10

Quality: 9

Value: 10

Recommended

MAHALETCHIMI D/O K

26 Mar 2017

House Type: HDB 4-Room

ID Firm: 96 Degree Designers

Designer(s): Jason Tan

Budget: $50k - $60k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

I would definitely recommend Jason as he is a very committed, knowledgeable and resourceful person. He takes pride in his work and always ready to help and suggest when there are any small issues. Takes each project as though he is doing the renovation for his own house and sees into minute details. Would call him a near perfectionists. Glad that I chose him among the 10 IDs that I received the quotations from. No regrets and am very happy..

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Can approach him without any fear or doubt. He is always ready to give suggestions as per to your wish list and at the end of the day, leaves it to you to decide. Doesn't push you to decide in a haste.

Read More

Review Score: 10

Service: 10

Design: 10

Quality: 10

Value: 10

Recommended

Nursila Md Haris

01 Aug 2016

House Type: HDB 5-Room/Exec/Mansionette

ID Firm: 96 Degree Designers

Designer(s): Eric Lim

Budget: $20k - $30k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

Yes, I would definitely recommend to all my friends, family and relatives. Our ID Mr Eric Lim from 96 degree is very helpful and will explain thoroughly on what is required and what needs to be done. He helps us to ease through our renovation process with his knowledge and skills. He explains on the different types of materials and how we can use them in our home for our convenience. Quality of materials recommended by our ID, Eric, are of good quality and the price quote are very reasonable. We got a really good deal with signing up on their promotion package and both my hubby and I are very pleased with the outcome of our home. Eric Lim is very patient and is a very responsible ID who takes note of our requests and complains and rectify the problem as soon as possible.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Advise to future homeowners is that they have to be cautious, have to work out their monthly budget if taking a bank loan for renovation. Do some research and check on renovation company's reviews and background before taking up their services. List down your ideas like what kind of theme you want for your new home. Communication is very important as your ID needs to understand your needs, give your ID a time frame by when the reno works have to be completed and have your ID work out a design that suits your budget. Have a heart to heart discussion with your ID and ensure that what you discussed is listed down by your ID. A good ID will always listen and recommend the best deal or package which suits your budget.

Read More

Review Score: 8

Service: 8

Design: 8

Quality: 8

Value: 8

Recommended

Connie Desiree Low

04 Jul 2016

House Type: HDB 3-Room

ID Firm: 96 Degree Designers

Designer(s): Nico

Budget: $30k - $40k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

This designer is very flexible and helpful. He allows me to design my own house. Now everyone who either saw the house or just the photos, were very impressed. They said it is simple, elegant and beautiful like a hotel. Most important, it is very practical. All my medical conditions were taken into consideration when planning the cabinets, flooring etc. Most designers do not take such details into considerations.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

My advice to the future homeowners is to use a designer who allows you to build your own dream but will give you suggestions and feedback so that the best results can be achieved. Also, planned your budget and schedule properly with your IDs to ensure your project execute flawlessly.

Read More

Review Score: 8

Service: 8

Design: 8

Quality: 8

Value: 8

Recommended

Sharon Toh

29 Jun 2016

House Type: HDB 4-Room

ID Firm: 96 Degree Designers

Designer(s): Roger Koh

Budget: $40k - $50k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

Roger is a very responsible & trustworthy ID. He is very diligent & honest person who really put in full efforts in my project. Because of him I never regret choosing 96 Degree for my house renovation, all my friends & relatives praised for their High standard of carpentry workmanships & I personally thumb up for Roger Koh's Customer Services.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

My advice to give to future homeowners, must take all carpentry measurement into consideration especially now layouts are pretty small. Must really look for a responsible ID if not will waste resources & money at the end of the renovations.

Read More

Review Score: 9.5

Service: 10

Design: 10

Quality: 9

Value: 9

Recommended

Siti Maisarah Binte Rustam

29 Jun 2016

House Type: HDB 4-Room

ID Firm: 96 Degree Designers

Designer(s): James Ng

Budget: $10k - $20k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

First of all, thank you to Home Reno Guru for helping us out looking for Interior Designers. Of course i will recommend my Interior design. My husband and I had a great time with our ID, he suggested to us many kind of renovation ideas that we need. He also followed what we want. A very prompt reply with every question i asked before i signed with 96 Degrees Designers. No forcing. No obligations. Its just a superb services and we love our new home sooo much!!

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

My advice to the future homeowners is to spent wisely within your budget. Do what is important. Choose a good quality that can use for long. I am using iQuartz for my kitchen table top and laminate furnish for all my wardrobe and kitchen cabinets.

Read More

Review Score: 9.5

Service: 10

Design: 10

Quality: 9

Value: 9

Recommended

Sean Gwee

28 Jun 2016

House Type: HDB 4-Room

ID Firm: 96 Degree Designers

Designer(s): Anthony Koh

Budget: $20k - $30k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

Yes, I would recommend 96 Degree to my friends. Anthony has been providing us an excellent service during our renovation. He is able to understand our concept and translate it into reality. Throughout the project period, he constantly keep us posted and updated about the progress of the renovation. He is responsive and quick to react to our needs, especially on the selection of materials to suit our home design ideas.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Important to do own research on the different interior design concepts and themes, materials before approaching any interior designers, so that they can understand what you want. Have a budget in mind and understanding what works will be included in the budget. Keep in mind that since it is a home where you will be staying - understanding the level of maintenance/upkeeping of the materials is crucial element as well in decision making process as well.

Read More

Review Score: 8

Service: 8

Design: 8

Quality: 8

Value: 8

Recommended

Ng Wei Kok

28 Jun 2016

House Type: HDB 5-Room/Exec/Mansionette

ID Firm: 96 Degree Designers

Designer(s): James Ng

Budget: $20k - $30k

Would you recommend this Interior Designer and why?

Yes because the attention to details, supervision on site, update of progress and coordination works exceeded our expectation. There was much assurance in the renovation process as we were kept informed of the detailed scope of works and the work progress. The designer allayed our initial worries about the constraint of our budget and existing site condition, and pointed and proved to us the potential of the intended look and ambience we could achieve.

What advice would you give to future homeowners?

Home Owners must have a definite and realistic idea of how their targeted renovation should turn out. They should not be shy to ask all the questions they have in mind in order to avoid any misunderstanding and misconceptions. Proper planning and thoughts are worth spending time before the actual execution. A good Interior Designer is also important to translate your ideas into contractor's defined and quantifiable scope.

Read More

Review Score: 9.8

Service: 10

Design: 10

Quality: 10

Value: 9

Recommended